Foodie Alchemist

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Homemade Soya Bean Milk and Ham Bun

on October 30, 2013

getImageI’ve been using the recipes in this cookbook (63种吃了会微笑的手作面包&多拿滋 – 作者/堀江典子), loosely translated as “63 Types of Bread & Doughnuts that will make you smile by Horie Noriko”, whenever I want to bake some really nice but simple bread. The recipes are easy enough to follow for novice bakers and there are enough variety built on a basic recipe.

The bread chef advocates hand kneading and will spend minimum 20 minutes just kneading the dough. I have tried using purely elbow grease during the initial learning stage, but ended up with flour all over myself. It’s just too messy and a pain to clean up after. Thanks to my KA mixer, I could skip the initial kneading stage by hand and let the machine do its job. I’ll only handle the dough when it’s ready for the first proofing.

Even though bread making is a 3 hour process, it is especially rewarding when the aroma of freshly baked bread fills the whole house.

Here’s what I made today: Ham bun (with a glass of soya bean milk). I’ll add some cheese to the rest for breakfast tomorrow. IMG_20131030_1

Still lacking in the looks department, but I do hope that the taste more than makes up for it!

Leave a Reply

GUAI SHU SHU

Guai Shu Shu is a "shu shu" that is "guai"....

Victoria Bakes

Baking into the Ether

Corner Café

Culinary Notes of a Hobby Baker...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Growing with the Tans

Love.Life.Laughter.

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Vivian Pang Kitchen

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Happy Home Baking

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Nasi Lemak Lover

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

