Foodie Alchemist

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Brown Sugar Bun

on March 6, 2014

It has been some time since I baked anything because I can’t help but feel mildly irritated when my bread/cakes turn out “different” from what I expected. After doing some research, I’m convinced that I need to upgrade to a better oven. My current one blows hot air which results in uneven browning everytime. Till then, I shall just stick to baking bread for breakfast. (And I also resolve to make more constructive notes along the way so that I can improve, hopefully.)

I came across this Youtube video of a Hong Kong chef making some bread using the water roux (汤种) method. I have tried so many variations of this method that I have lost count. No harm trying this.

Water-roux:

80g water

40g milk

40g brown sugar

100g bread flour

  1. Heat up the water and milk. Stir in the brown sugar until dissolved.
  2. Turn off the heat and stir in the bread flour until combined. Leave aside to cool.
Bread dough:

Water roux

7g yeast

15g honey

2g salt

25g egg

40g milk

15g milk powder

110g bread flour

30g butter

  1. Combine all the ingredients except the butter. I use my KA mixer on speed 4 for about 20 minutes until it becomes dough-like.
  2. Add the butter. Mix for another 10 minutes.
  3. Shape the dough and let it proof for 1 hour.
  4. Flour the working countertop as the dough is quite sticky but still workable. Punch the inflated dough down. I divided the dough into 6 portions. Let them proof for 10-15minutes.
  5. Shape the buns and let them proof for another 30-40 minutes.
  6. Brush the buns with egg wash, and bake in preheated oven at 180°C for 15 minutes.

BrownSugarBun.jpg

I think I can work on this recipe. The buns turn out soft and fluffy, though they were of uneven size and colour – proven handmade, hehe…) But I find it a bit sweet, so I will probably reduce the sugar and honey, and also add another 20g of flour as I find the dough a bit too sticky.

Yeah, breakfast is settled for tomorrow.

One response to “Brown Sugar Bun

  1. Evelyn says:

    Yeah, the buns are still soft and fluffy this morning. =)

Leave a Reply

GUAI SHU SHU

Guai Shu Shu is a "shu shu" that is "guai"....

Victoria Bakes

Baking into the Ether

Corner Café

Culinary Notes of a Hobby Baker...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Growing with the Tans

Love.Life.Laughter.

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Vivian Pang Kitchen

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Happy Home Baking

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Nasi Lemak Lover

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

