Foodie Alchemist

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Chocolate Banana Cake (and a whole lot of nuts)

on April 1, 2014

This one is for you, birthday boy man!

chocolatebananawalnut.jpg

I adapted the recipe for Easy brownies from Anncoo Journal. The first time I tried it, it tasted more like chocolate cake than brownie to me. I guess it really depends on how you like your brownies – rich and dense or more cake-like. I prefer the latter, though I’m not sure if it can still be called a brownie.

This is recipe is easily adaptable. Feel free to add more bananas, choc chips, nuts etc.

Chocolate crumble:

20g plain flour

1 tbsp cocoa powder

10g sugar

15g soft butter

Cake batter:

65g soft butter

60g brown sugar

2 egg yolks

¼ tsp vanilla extract

2 egg whites

65g melted chocolate

75g chopped walnuts

30g chocolate chips

2 bananas, mashed

*sift the following together

70g cake flour

2tbsp cocoa powder

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

Chocolate crumble:

  1. Mix all the ingredients together until it resembles bread crumbs.

 

Cake batter:

  1. Beat the butter with the sugar until light and fluffy.
  2. Add the egg yolks one at a time. Mix well.
  3. Mix in vanilla extract.
  4. In another clean bowl, whisk the egg whites to stiff peaks.
  5. Fold the melted chocolate into the egg white.
  6. Fold the egg yolk batter into the egg white mixture.
  7. Add the chopped walnuts, chocolate chips and mashed banana. Mix well.
  8. Add the sifted flour mixture with 2 tbsp fresh milk. Fold well.
  9. Pour mixture into lined pan and sprinkle the chocolate crumble on top.
  10. Bake at preheated 170°C for about 30 minutes.

I thought the cake will look too boring and “browny” in the picture, and I have no interest nor decent skills in cream or fondant decoration. I opened my pantry and fridge and realized I have nothing colourful that I can use. But I do have a lot of nuts…And so I sprinkled some chopped pumpkin seeds and peanuts in an attempt to add some colour.  The crumble and nuts add a nice crunch to the otherwise fluffy cake.

Oh, and how can I forget  the amateur chocolate heart that even I am too embarrassed to mention how I made it.

P.S. If you observed closely, there is a crack in the cake. It happened when I was in the midst of transferring the cake.

Now,you know the secret of this nutty cake.

Leave a Reply

GUAI SHU SHU

Guai Shu Shu is a "shu shu" that is "guai"....

Victoria Bakes

Baking into the Ether

Corner Café

Culinary Notes of a Hobby Baker...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Growing with the Tans

Love.Life.Laughter.

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Vivian Pang Kitchen

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Happy Home Baking

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Nasi Lemak Lover

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

