Foodie Alchemist

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Wholemeal Bread

on September 16, 2014

This post exists to help me keep track of a recent bake which I shall be using again.

It has been 5 months since my last post and it is not because I was MIA. The reason for my not-so-brief hiatus was because I had moved out of my place and the current kitchen just doesn’t work for me. (Sorry Mum) My tools are either packed in boxes or lying around, somewhere. The thought of setting up the stuff for baking in this hot and humid weather just sap me of whatever little energy I have left.

And so, I spend a lot of my resting time looking in envy at food blogs, saving those recipes for some other day. I know, I’m lucky. =)

Over the weekend, I finally managed to get someone to volunteer to wash up after I’m done. So, I baked some wholemeal bread using this recipe from Christine’s Recipes. I did not take any pictures (too lazy to set up) but I can tell you this recipe works. Tried and tested. It can be sweeter as I replaced the caster sugar with brown sugar, and milk with water. As of now (day 3), there’s only 2 slices of it left.

I think I shall make it again soon. I’ll add some honey this time round, use milk and bake for at least 35 minutes. Oh, and I read that you should let the dry ingredients soak in the wet ingredients for 10 minutes before kneading.

Leave a Reply

Corner Café

Culinary Notes of a Hobby Baker...

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Growing with the Tans

Love.Life.Laughter.

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Vivian Pang Kitchen

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Happy Home Baking

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Nasi Lemak Lover

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

Cuisine Paradise | Singapore Food Blog | Recipes, Reviews And Travel

My inspirations from flipping through recipes and tinkering with the ingredients in my pantry

